Michaelmas Term Week 5 Concert: Monday 11th November

Ornaments of the Passing Night // Kegelstatt Trio

OUMS Chamber Music presents our second event of Michaelmas Term 2019, a concert featuring two trios for clarinet, string instrument, and piano.

Ornaments of the Passing Night is a new piece for violin, clarinet and piano by Thomas Metcalf, DPhil candidate in composition at Worcester College. It is inspired by astral constellations in the night sky of Bodø, Norway, on a night in October from 12am-8am. The composer will introduce it.

W. A. Mozart’s Kegelstatt Trio is thought to be the first piece ever to have been written for clarinet, viola and piano. The nickname ‘Kegelstatt’ means a playground for skittles and derives from an unverified rumour that Mozart composed the piece while playing that old European variant of bowling on an afternoon in Vienna.




Thomas MetcalfOrnaments of the Passing Night (World Premiere)

Barnaby Burleigh (violin), Thomas Carr (clarinet), David Palmer (piano)


Wolfgang Amadeus MozartKegelstatt Trio, K. 498 (1786)

Charlotte Smith (clarinet), Daniel Dalland (viola), Kat Sargeant (piano)


This concert is FREE and UNTICKETED.

Doors will open c. 5:40pm.

This venue has step-free access.

Please email Thomas Carr at chambermusic@oums.org with any queries about this event.